Gstaad Menuhin Festival Gstaad Festival Orchestra Gstaad Academy Gstaad Digital Festival

Photo-Database Contact

Facebook Youtube

Les Alpes
July, 13 – September, 1 2018

Dear Musicians,
Dear Guests of the Gstaad Academy

At Gstaad Academy we offer the complete range of master courses addressed to young professionals, as well as all the «Play@» courses which are aimed at amateur players of all ages.

The latest Gstaad-Academy summer 2017 was characterized by Conducting Academy’s new dawn with conductor Jaap van Zweden. His activities with the students and Gstaad Festival Orchestra facilitated comprehensive musical learning processes. We warmly welcome Jaap van Zweden and his team also for the next Conducting Academy in summer 2018, in its already 5th edition!
 
Our Neeme Järvi Prize, which we launched along with the 2015 edition, will also be continued under the new conduct. In the coming months and seasons, the prize-winners of the 2017 award, Katharina Wincor and Petr Popelka, will be able to conduct three of our partner orchestras: the Basel Symphony Orchestra, the Basel Chamber Orchestra and the Bernese Symphony Orchestra.
 
Apart from chief conductor Jaap van Zweden, we have also appointed a «Head of Teaching»: Johannes Schlaefli is one of Europe’s most renowned conducting professors and is heading a conducting class at music college ZHdK in Zurich. He will be supervising and heading the lessons throughout the Academy’s entire term.
 
Professional students can choose from a selection of customised master courses with opportunities of high-profile performance, while enjoying the platform of a leading international music festival which not only offers master courses but stages top-quality concerts on a daily basis:
 
In 2018, String Academy will be enhanced by the first-time presence of Prof Rainer Schmidt, violin player of the Hagen-Quartet and leader of a violin class at the Basel Academy of Music. An improvisation-workshop for string-players with Roby Lakatos will complete the comprehensive range.
 
Silvana Bazzoni Bartoli will again hold her Vocal Academy during the last week of the festival - just like Swiss recorder player Maurice Steger, who will (supported by his team) offer the Baroque Academy in the festival’s final week.

Ambitious amateurs can count on an altogether joyful experience of practical music-making as well as experiencing spectacular concert performances.

All courses are directed by highly regarded musicians who have taken time off from their professional commitments for the sake of passing on their knowledge.

People's experiences at the Gstaad Menuhin Festival are also unique in being coloured by the magical environment of Switzerland's Saanenland countryside, one of the most beautiful Alpine foothill regions to be found anywhere in the world.

We would like the Gstaad Academy to remain linked in spirit to the founder of the Gstaad Festival, Yehudi Menuhin, whose friends and guests at Gstaad for 40 years included not only established artists like Benjamin Britten, Peter Pears and Maurice Gendron but also Menuhin's own students and young musicians of exceptionally promising talent.

Looking forward to the event with eager anticipation!

Christoph Müller,
Director

Christoph Müller

Christoph Müller, Director

Gstaad Menuhin Festival Gstaad Festival Orchestra Gstaad Academy Gstaad Digital Festival

Foto-Datenbank Kontakt

Facebook Youtube

Les Alpes
13. Juli bis 1. September 2018

Liebe Musikerinnen, Liebe Musiker, Liebe Besucher der Gstaad Academy

Unter dem Dach der Gstaad Academy fassen wir alle Meisterkurse, die sich an junge Professionals und alle Play@-Kurse, die sich an jugendliche und erwachsene Amateure richten, zusammen.

Der vergangene Gstaad-Academy-Sommer 2017 war geprägt vom Neuanfang in der Conducting Academymit dem Dirigenten Jaap van Zweden. Seine Arbeit mit den Studenten und dem Gstaad Festival Orchestra ermöglichte tiefgreifende musikalische Lernprozesse. Wir heissen Jaap van Zweden und sein Team auch für die kommende Conducting Academy im Sommer 2018, in der bereits 5. Ausgabe, herzlich willkommen!
 
Unser Neeme Järvi Prize, den wir in der Ausgabe 2015 eingeführt haben, setzen wir auch unter neuer Leitung fort. Die Gewinner des Preises 2017, Katharina Wincor und Petr Popelka, werden in den kommenden Monaten und Saisons drei unserer Partnerorchester dirigieren können: Sinfonieorchester Basel, Kammerorchester Basel und Berner Symphonieorchester.
 
Neben dem Chefdirigenten Jaap van Zweden haben wir einen «Head of Teaching» installiert: Johannes Schlaefli ist einer der ausgewiesensten Dirigier-Professoren Europas und leitet eine Dirigenten-Klasse an der Musikhochschule ZHdK in Zürich. Er begleitet und leitet den Unterricht während der ganzen Dauer der Academy.
 
Wir bieten den professionellen Kursteilnehmern massgeschneiderte Meisterkurse und prominente Auftrittsmöglichkeiten, sowie die Plattform eines international führenden Musikfestivals, das neben den Meisterkursen täglich hochkarätige Konzerte präsentiert:
 
Die String Academy wird in der Ausgabe 2018 durch die erstmalige Präsenz von Prof. Rainer Schmidt, dem Geiger des Hagen-Quartetts und dem Leiter einer Violin-Ausbildungsklasse an der Musikakademie Basel, bereichert. Ein Improvisations-Workshop mit Roby Lakatos für Streicher ergänzt das reichhaltige Angebot.

Silvana Bazzoni Bartoli wird ihre Vocal Academy wiederum in der letzten Festival-Woche geben wie auch der Schweizer Blockflötist, Maurice Steger, welcher mit seinem Team in der letzten Woche des Festivals die Baroque Academy erteilen wird.

 

Den ambitionierten Amateuren wiederum garantieren wir ein Gesamterlebnis von praktizierender Musizierfreude bis hin zu spektakulären Konzertabenden.

Alle Kurse stehen unter der Leitung renommierter Musikpersönlichkeiten, die sich die Musse und Zeit nehmen, ihre Kenntnisse weiterzugeben.

Die Erlebnisse am Gstaad Menuhin Festival sind auch daher unverwechselbar, weil sie geprägt sind von der zauberhaften Umgebung des schweizerischen Saanenlandes, einer der schönsten Voralpen-Regionen überhaupt.

Wir möchten mit der Gstaad Academy im Geiste unseres Festivalgründers Yehudi Menuhin verbunden sein, der während 40 Jahren neben seinen arrivierten Künstlerfreunden wie Benjamin Britten, Peter Pears oder Maurice Gendron auch immer seine Studenten oder besonders förderungswürdige junge Musiker nach Gstaad einlud und mit ihnen arbeitete und musizierte.

In grosser Vorfreude!
Christoph Müller,
Intendant

Christoph Müller

Christoph Müller, Intendant